Menu Close


Early Years Foundation Stage

Our commitment at Eagle Nest International is to take a child-friendly approach in providing young children with the finest surroundings for their first school experience. Our dedicated team in the EYFS aim to provide the highest quality care and education for all our children, giving them a strong foundation for their future learning. In a safe and happy environment, we create motivating and enjoyable learning experiences that enable children to become confident and independent.

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) applies to children from birth to the end of the Reception year (age 4). We follow the EYFS framework, which is statutory in the UK. In doing this, we are adopting a curriculum which entirely follows the British education system and provides children with the best possible start to their schooling. The EYFS Framework is adapted to meet the needs of each individual child and incorporates four themes. Each theme expresses important guiding principles underpinning effective practice in the care, development and learning of young children.

The four themes and principles are:

o    A Unique Child: Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

o    Positive Relationships: Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

o    Enabling Environments: The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

o    Learning and Development: Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

A Unique Child

Young children develop in individual ways and at varying rates. Children’s attitudes and

dispositions to learning are influenced by our praise and encouragement; therefore, we aim

to encourage children to develop a positive attitude to learning. We welcome pupils from a

diverse range of cultures and backgrounds and we teach all our pupils to explore, respect

and appreciate the wide range of cultures that make up our School community.

Enabling Environment

At Eagle Nest International  we recognise that the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending

children’s development. This begins by observing the children and assessing their

interests, development and learning, before planning challenging but achievable activities

and experiences to extend their learning.


The Early Years Foundation Stage area at our school is designed and organised to allow

children to explore and learn within a secure and safe environment. Our facility is

colourful and exciting with places where the children can be active, be creative or just be

quiet and rest. Children should have ownership of their classroom and they are encouraged

to find and locate equipment and resources independently. Labels include pictures and signs

to help pre-readers, and everything they are allowed to use is within their reach. The EYFS

area has its own enclosed outdoor play area and garden that is used every day. This has a

positive effect on children’s development, as being outdoors offers opportunities for

learning and doing things in different ways and on different scales than when indoors.

Observations of the children take place outdoors in the same way as they do indoors.

Learning and Development

At Eagle Nest International  we value all areas of learning and development equally and understand that

they are inter-connected. Play is a very important part of the EYFS curriculum and your

child will be taught through a balance of structured play and focussed tasks. Through play

our children explore and develop learning experiences, which help them make sense of the

world. They practise and build up their ideas and learn how to control themselves and

understand the need for rules. They have the opportunity to think creatively alongside

other children as well as on their own. They learn to communicate with others as they

investigate and solve problems.
‘Active learning’ occurs when children are motivated and interested. Children need to have

some independence and control over their learning. As a child’s confidence develops they

learn to make their own choices and decisions. This provides children with a sense of

satisfaction as they take ownership of their learning.

The Seven Areas of Learning

Our EYFS environment is designed to be interesting, attractive and accessible to every child so they can learn independently. We believe children should be given opportunities to be creative through all areas of learning. EYFS teachers support children’s thinking and help them to make connections by showing genuine interest, offering encouragement, clarifying and modeling ideas and asking open questions. Children can access resources freely and are allowed to move them around the classroom to extend their learning. We allow the same amount of time for child initiated activities as we do for adult led activities.

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years’ settings. These are grouped into three ‘Prime Areas’ and four ‘Specific Areas’. The prime areas are considered the most essential for healthy development and future learning. As children grow, a secure grounding in the prime areas will help them to tackle the learning and challenges and develop skills in the specific areas.